People

Faculty

Iftehkar Ahmed Assistant Professor DBH 5228 (949) 824-6444 iftekha@uci.edu
Rebecca Black Associate Professor DBH 5072 (949) 824-0592 rwblack@uci.edu
Geoffrey Bowker Donald Bren Professor in Information and Computer Sciences DBH 5091 (949) 824-4558 gbowker@uci.edu
Stacy Branham Assistant Professor DBH 6097 (949) 824-1529 sbranham@uci.edu
Yunan Chen Associate Professor DBH 6099 (949) 824-0959 yunanc@uci.edu
Roderic Crooks Assistant Professor DBH 5088 (949) 824-8921 crooksr@uci.edu
Paul Dourish Chancellor’s Professor DBH 5086 (949) 824-8127 jpd@ics.uci.edu
Daniel Epstein Assistant Professor DBH 6093 (949) 824-4197 epstein@ics.uci.edu
Joshua Garcia Assistant Professor ICS2 208 (949) 824-7003 joshug4@uci.edu
Gillian Hayes Robert A. and Barbara L. Kleist Chair in Informatics DBH 5084 (949) 824-1483 gillianrh@ics.uci.edu
Mizuko Ito Professor in Residence DBH 5204 (949) 824-9011 mizukoi@uci.edu
James A. Jones Associate Professor DBH 5214 (949) 824-0942 jajones@uci.edu
Cristina Lopes Professor DBH 5076 (949) 824-1525 lopes@ics.uci.edu
Sam Malek Associate Professor DBH 5226 (949) 824-0639 malek@uci.edu
Gloria Mark Professor DBH 5212 (949) 824-5955 gmark@ics.uci.edu
Melissa Mazmanian Associate Professor DBH 5092 (949) 824-9284 mmazmani@ics.uci.edu
Richard Pattis Professor of Teaching DBH 4062 (949) 824-2704 pattis@ics.uci.edu
Kylie Peppler Associate Professor DBH 5206 (949) 824-4828 kpeppler@uci.edu
David Redmiles Professor DBH 5232 (949) 824-3823 redmiles@ics.uci.edu
Bonnie Ruberg Assistant Professor DBH 5058 (949) 824-1588 bruberg@uci.edu
Katie Salen Professor DBH 5056 (949) 824-5837 ksalen@uci.edu
Kurt Squire Professor DBH 5064 (949) 824-9045 ksquire@uci.edu
Constance Steinkuehler Professor DBH 5066 (949) 824-8716 const@uci.edu
Josh Tanenbaum Assistant Professor DBH 5052 (949) 824-7078 tanenbaj@uci.edu
Bill Tomlinson Professor DBH 5068 (949) 824-9804 wmt@uci.edu
Aaron Trammell Assistant Professor DBH 5048 (732) 678-3879 trammell@uci.edu
André van der Hoek Professor DBH 5038 (949) 824-6326 andre@uci.edu
Kai Zheng Associate Professor DBH 6095 (949) 824-6920 kai.zheng@uci.edu
Hadar Ziv Associate Professor of Teaching DBH 5062 ziv@ics.uci.edu

Professors Emeriti

Julian Feldman Professor Emeritus feldman@ics.uci.edu
David Kay Professor Emeritus of Teaching kay@uci.edu
Alfred Kobsa Professor Emeritus DBH 6091 (949) 485-5020 kobsa@uci.edu
Bonnie Nardi Professor Emeritus nardi@ics.uci.edu
Gary Olson Professor Emeritus DBH 5202 (949) 824-0077 golson@uci.edu
Judy Olson Professor Emeritus DBH 5206 (949) 824-0077 jsolson@uci.edu
Debra Richardson Professor Emeritus DBH 5241 (949) 824-7353 djr@ics.uci.edu
Richard Taylor Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus DBH 5216 (949) 824-6429 taylor@ics.uci.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Jonathan Alexander Chancellor’s Professor of English and Informatics 153 KH (949) 824-7397 jfalexan@uci.edu
John Crawford Professor of Dance and Media Arts CAC 2036 (949) 824-8817 john.crawford@uci.edu
Christopher Dobrian Professor of Music MM 303 (949) 824-7288 dobrian@uci.edu
Magda El Zarki Professor of Computer Science DBH 3216 (949) 824-8584 elzarki@uci.edu
Vijay Gurbaxani Taco Bell Endowed Professor of Information Systems and Computer Science SB 315 (949) 824-5215 vgurbaxa@uci.edu
Jesse Jackson Assistant Professor of Art j.c.jackson@uci.edu
Peter Krapp Professor of Film & Media Studies HG 2321 (949) 824-3532 krapp@uci.edu
Simon Penny Professor of Art 2229 ACT penny@uci.edu
Kavita Philip Associate Professor of History HG 3222 kphilip@uci.edu
Stephanie Reich Associate Professor of Education EDUC 3454 (949) 824-5970 smreich@uci.edu
Patricia Seed Professor of History 260 KH (949) 824-8223 seed5@uci.edu
Alladi Venkatesh Professor of Marketing SB 429 (949) 824-6625 avenkate@uci.edu
Mark Warschauer Professor of Education EDUC 3225 (949) 824-2526 markw@uci.edu

Lecturers

Darren Denenberg Lecturer DBH 5044 ddenenbe@uci.edu
Kim Hermans Lecturer DBH 6082 khermans@uci.edu
Emily Navarro Lecturer DBH 5221 emilyo@uci.edu

Staff

Adriana Avina MHCID/Department Coordinator DBH 5074 (949) 824-0247 atavina@uci.edu
Susan Barrows Faculty Assistant DBH 5028 (949) 824-9661 sbarrows@ics.uci.edu
Marty Beach Department Manager DBH 5042 (949) 824-2901 mbeach@uci.edu
Connie Cheng MSE Program Director DBH 5216 (949) 824-8956 connie.cheng@uci.edu
Sue Drost Academic Personnel Administrator DBH 2044 (949) 824-2551 smdrost@uci.edu
Steve Hosaflook MHCID Program Director DBH 5076 (949) 824-6775 shosaflo@uci.edu
Julio Rodriguez Faculty Assistant DBH 5026 (949) 824-3546 juliojr@uci.edu

Researchers

Matt Bietz Assistant Project Scientist DBH 5208 mbietz@ics.uci.edu
Mary Lowry Associate Specialist mplowry@uci.edu
Steve Slota Postdoctoral Scholar sslota@uci.edu
Stewart Sutton Assistant Specialist suttons@uci.edu
Karen Tanenbaum Assistant Project Scientist DBH 5208 ktanenba@uci.edu

Graduate Students

Christie Anne Abel Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 abelca@uci.edu
Hillary Abraham Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 hillarya@uci.edu
Rohan Achar Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 408 rachar@uci.edu
Fatema Akbar Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5099 fatemaa@uci.edu
Abdulaziz Nasser I Alshayban Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 azizn890@gmail.com
Craig Gordon Anderson Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 craigga@uci.edu
Maria Jose Anderson Coto Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 mjander2@uci.edu
Shivam Arora M.S. (Software Engineering) shivama1@uci.edu
Armin Balalaie Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5243 abalalai@uci.edu
Mark S. Baldwin Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 baldwinm@uci.edu
Kathryn Barrett Brewster Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 kbbrewst@uci.edu
Jeffrey Bryan Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 jsbryan@uci.edu
Kyle Ryan Canavera Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 kcanaver@uci.edu
Felix Chan Lee M.S. (Software Engineering) chanleef@uci.edu
Chiyu Cheng M.S. (Software Engineering) chiyuc2@uci.edu
Kai Yee Phoebe Chua Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 kychua@uci.edu
Maxwell Collins Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 mcollin2@uci.edu
Mayara Costa Figueiredo Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 mcostafi@uci.edu
Amanda Lynn Lawson Cullen Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 cullena@uci.edu
Pritha Dawn M.S. (Software Engineering) pdawn@uci.edu
Kaj Dreef Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5243 kdreef@uci.edu
Yao Du Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 yaod7@uci.edu
William Charles Dunkel Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 wdunkel@uci.edu
Isabelle Edwards Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5211 isabelle@uci.edu
Timothy Weil Elfenbein Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2100 telfenbe@uci.edu
Farima Farmahinifarahani Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 408 farimaf@uci.edu
Heather Ashley Faucett Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 hfaucett@uci.edu
Marina Fedorova Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 mfedorov@uci.edu
Yang Feng Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5243 fengy7@uci.edu
Eugenia Gabrielov Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 408 eugenig@ics.uci.edu
Daniel Lowell Gardner Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 dlgardne@uci.edu
Reginald Thomas Gardner Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 rtgardne@uci.edu
Negar Ghorbani Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 negargh@uci.edu
JaM.S.hir Farshid Goorabian M.S. (Software Engineering) jgoorabi@uci.edu
Edward Robert Grover Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5099 grovere@uci.edu
Xinning Gui Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 guix@ics.uci.edu
Yunjiao Guo M.S. (Informatics) yunjiaog@uci.edu
Saumya Gupta Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5211 saumya@uci.edu
Yuxuan Hao M.S. (Software Engineering) yuxuanh6@uci.edu
Lu He Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 lhe11@uci.edu
Jina Hong M.S. (Informatics) jinah4@uci.edu
Leah Elaine Horgan Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 horganl@uci.edu
Mustafa Ibraheem Hussain Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 mihussai@uci.edu
Reyhaneh Jabbarvand Behrouz Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 jabbarvr@uci.edu
Krithika Jagannath Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5099 kjaganna@uci.edu
Xiangyu Ji M.S. (Software Engineering) xiangyj5@uci.edu
Yiwei Ji M.S. (Informatics) yiweij2@uci.edu
Ke Jing Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 kjing1@uci.edu
Jazette Johnson Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 jazettej@uci.edu
Soham Kanade M.S. (Software Engineering) skanade1@uci.edu
Saloni Khasgiwala M.S. (Software Engineering) skhasgiw@uci.edu
David Tamas Kutas Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 414 dkutas@uci.edu
Ian Larson Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5211 larsoni@uci.edu
Hosub Lee Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5051 hosubl@uci.edu
Je Seok Lee Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 jesl@uci.edu
Qingyang Li M.S. (Informatics) qingyl6@uci.edu
Yao Li Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5051 yaol16@uci.edu
Zerui Li M.S. (Software Engineering) zeruil1@uci.edu
Jun-Wei Lin Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 junwel1@uci.edu
Xiaomi Liu M.S. (Software Engineering) xiaoml6@uci.edu
Aziz Mahmood M.S. (Software Engineering) mahmood2@uci.edu
Aparajita Subhash Marathe M.S. (Informatics) asmarath@uci.edu
Clara Marques Caldeira Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 claram@uci.edu
Richard M. Martinez Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 richamm1@uci.edu
Samantha Alison Mcdonald Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2600 smcdona2@uci.edu
Forough Mehralian Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 fmehrali@uci.edu
Adriana Meza Soria Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 414 amezasor@uci.edu
Sara Milkes Espinosa Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2100 smilkese@uci.edu
Meena Devii Muralikumar M.S. (Informatics) muralikm@uci.edu
Aditya Nair M.S. (Software Engineering) adityan1@uci.edu
Sarah Mei Lin Ng Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 ngsm@uci.edu
Juliet Norton Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2600 jnnorton@ics.uci.edu
Seanna Rose O’leary Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5211 olearysr@uci.edu
Benedict Salazar Olgado Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 bolgado@uci.edu
Elahe Paikari Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 414 epaikari@uci.edu
Wei Pan M.S. (Software Engineering) panw4@uci.edu
Shamali Dileep Patwa M.S. (Software Engineering) spatwa@uci.edu
Lucy Pei Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2600 lucypei3.14@gmail.com
Nicholas Persa Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 npersa@uci.edu
Marcel Mariusz Pufal Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 mpufal@uci.edu
Nishanth Narayan Punyamurthy M.S. (Software Engineering) npunyamu@uci.edu
Chongshu Qian M.S. (Software Engineering) chongshq@uci.edu
Noopur Atul Raval Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 naraval@uci.edu
Jason Ginsberg Reitman Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 jreitman@uci.edu
Tera Leigh Reynolds Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 tlreynol@uci.edu
Ha Rim Rho Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5051 hrrho@uci.edu
Spencer Taylor Berdiago Ruelos Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 sruelos@uci.edu
Navid Salehnamadi Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 nsalehna@uci.edu
Arundhati Ulhas Sawant M.S. (Software Engineering) ausawant@uci.edu
Rainforest Scully-Blaker Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 rscullyb@uci.edu
John Sidney Seberger Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2600 jseberge@ics.uci.edu
Vishal Sharma M.S. (Informatics) vishals1@uci.edu
Wen Shen Ph.D. (Informatics) ICS1 408 wens4@uci.edu
Xuan Shi M.S. (Software Engineering) xshi6@uci.edu
Prateek Singh M.S. (Software Engineering) pratees2@uci.edu
Prerna Singh M.S. (Software Engineering) prerns1@uci.edu
Utkarsh Singh M.S. (Software Engineering) singhu1@uci.edu
Richard Aubrey Slaughter Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2600 slaughtr@uci.edu
Kevin Mark Storer Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5099 storerk@uci.edu
Brian Doan-Phu Tran Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 6136 bdtran@uci.edu
Prajal Mayurkumar Trivedi M.S. (Software Engineering) pmtrived@uci.edu
Anita Marie Tsaasan Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 tsaasan@uci.edu
Benedict John Turner Ph.D. (Informatics) CALIT 2 2100 turnerbj@uci.edu
Wenzao Wang M.S. (Software Engineering) wenzaow@uci.edu
Zhendong Wang Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 zhendow@uci.edu
Minnie Wu Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5209 minniew@uci.edu
Weijia Xu M.S. (Software Engineering) weijiax1@uci.edu
Di Yang Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 408 diy4@ics.uci.edu
Daniel Yao M.S. (Software Engineering) dsyao@uci.edu
Faraz Yazdani Banafshe Daragh Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 fyazdan1@uci.edu
Chaeyoon Yoo Ph.D. (Informatics) DBH 5059 chaeyooy@uci.edu
Meng Yuan M.S. (Software Engineering) yuanm9@uci.edu
Yang Yue Ph.D. (Software Engineering) DBH 5231 yyue7@uci.edu
Melisse Andreana De Castro Yutuc M.S. (Informatics) myutuc@uci.edu
Maruf Hasan Zaber Ph.D. (Software Engineering) ICS1 408 mzaber@uci.edu
Minghe Zhang M.S. (Software Engineering) minghez2@uci.edu
Xinxin Zheng M.S. (Informatics) xinxinz6@uci.edu
Dixin Zhou M.S. (Software Engineering) dixinz@uci.edu
Tan Zhou M.S. (Informatics) tanz4@uci.edu
Yi Zhou M.S. (Software Engineering) zhouy46@uci.edu